

LITTLE ROCK SCHOOL DISTRICT 810 WEST MARKHAM STREET LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS 72201

MINUTES SPECIAL BOARD MEETING February 18, 2013

The Board of Directors of the Little Rock School District held a special board meeting on Monday, February 18, 2013, in the boardroom of the administration building, 810 West Markham Street, Little Rock, Arkansas. President Dianne Curry presided.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Dianne Curry Greg Adams Norma Johnson Tommy Branch Jody Carreiro Leslie Fisken Michael Nellums

MEMBERS ABSENT:

None

ALSO PRESENT:

Beverly Griffin, Recorder of Minutes

I. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL

Ms. Curry called the meeting to order at 5:38 p.m. All members of the board were present at roll call.

II. PURPOSE OF THE MEETING

The meeting was called for the purpose of receiving a report and recommendations from the McPherson & Jacobsen executive search firm.

Ms. Curry introduced McPherson and Jacobsen consultants, Loe Dunn, Keith Williams and John Smith.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Mr. Carreiro moved to go into executive session to discuss the recommendations for hiring a superintendent. Ms. Fisken seconded the motion and it <u>carried unanimously</u>. The closed session convened at 5:46 p.m. The board returned from executive session at 7:57 p.m. and reported no action was taken.

Board Meeting February 18, 2013 Page 2

Ms. Dunn addressed the board and recommended four candidates for interview:

- Dr. Connie Hathorn
- Dr. Walter Milton
- Dr. Stephanie Phillips
- Dr. Dexter Suggs

Mr. Adams moved to approve the recommendations of the search consultants. Ms. Johnson seconded the motion, and it <u>carried unanimously</u>.

Mr. Carreiro announced the interviews would be conducted on February 25, 26, 27 & March 1, 2013.

Audit Training Video

The board viewed the ASBA / ADE required training video on school audits. They are to receive one hour of training credit for viewing the video.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business before the board, the meeting adjourned at 9:11 p.m.

APPROVED: <u>02-28-13</u>

Originals Signed by: Dianne Curry, President Norma J. Johnson, Secretary